Ken Jeong, Greta Lee, Makoto Shinkai among Critics Choice Association’s honorees

Ken Jeong, Greta Lee, Makoto Shinkai among Critics Choice Association’s honorees
via YouTube
Bryan Ke
November 14, 2023
The Critics Choice Association (CCA) has released its complete list of honorees from the Black, Latino and Asian American/Pacific Islander (AAPI) communities, which include Ken Jeong and Greta Lee.
Key details: Called the “Celebration of Cinema and Television: Honoring Black, Latino and AAPI Achievements,” the event will be held at the Fairmont Century Plaza in Los Angeles on Dec. 4. The award show will be hosted by “P-Valley” star Nicco Annan, according to the association’s press release on Monday.
The Asian honorees: Among the list of Asian honorees is Jeong, who will be receiving the Comedy Trailblazer Award. The “Crazy Rich Asians” star will be joined by Greta Lee, who will be awarded the Actress Award (Film) for her performance in “Past Lives.”
Beef” director Lee Sung Jin will also be honored with the Breakthrough Director Award (TV) alongside Charles Melton, who will take the Breakthrough Performance Award for his work in “May December.”
Meanwhile, Makoto Shinkai, the Japanese animator and filmmaker behind “Your Name” and “Weathering With You,” is set to receive the International Animation Award for “Suzume.”
What they are saying: CCA CEO Joey Berlin said in the statement that his group is proud to recognize the diverse groups of honorees that will be awarded next month.
“For the last few years, the CCA has hosted individual Celebrations of Black, Latino and AAPI Cinema and Television,” Berlin said. “CCA will return to individual shows in 2024 but doing this special celebration allows us to continue the CCA’s tradition of supporting inclusion and creativity in our industry.”
Share this Article
© 2024 NextShark, Inc. All rights reserved.