Pentagon’s Kino makes his solo debut with ‘Pose’

Pentagon’s Kino makes his solo debut with ‘Pose’

August 10, 2022
Kino of K-pop boy group Pentagon made his solo debut on Tuesday with the single “Pose.”
The song was written and composed by Kino and fellow Pentagon member Wooseok. In an interview with Newsweek ahead of their performance at MIK Festival in London last month, Kino said creating his new single was “easier than composing the team’s music because it’s just me in the whole song. I know what I like and I know what I can do well, so it was easier.”  
Kino and his fellow Pentagon members —Wooseok, Hui, Jinho, Hongseok, Shinwon, Yanan, Yeo One and Yuto — are known for often composing, writing and producing their own music for their releases.
Subscribe to
NextShark's Newsletter

A daily dose of Asian America's essential stories, in under 5 minutes.

Get our collection of Asian America's most essential stories to your inbox daily for free.

Unsure? Check out our Newsletter Archive.

Their most recent comeback as a group was in January with the mini-album “In:vite U.” Its title track, “Feelin’ Like,” was written by Kino, Wooseok and Jinho. They collaborated for the first time as lyricists on it since they usually write songs for the group individually. Wooseok reportedly helped write all of the mini-album’s six tracks.
Pentagon debuted under Cube Entertainment in October 2016 with their self-titled EP. The group, which initially had 10 members, was created with contestants from the Mnet competition show “Pentagon Maker.”
Former member Dawn, who previously went by E’Dawn, and his current girlfriend Hyuna were both let go by Cube Entertainment in 2018 after their relationship became public. Hyuna and Dawn are now signed under Psy’s label P Nation. Meanwhile, Pentagon leader Hui and vocalist Hongseok are currently serving their mandatory military service.
In other Cube Entertainment news, girl group (G)I-dle released their comeback album “I Never Die” with lead track “Tomboy” back in March. They are currently on the road for their “Just Me ()I-dle” world tour. Cube Entertainment’s other girl group Lightsum released their first EP “Into The Light” with title track “Alive” back in May. Lightsum will be a headlining act at KCON LA 2022 later this month and will be joined by other superstar acts such as Ateez, Enhypen, Itzy, Kep1er, Loona, Nmixx, P1Harmony, StayC, Stray Kids, TO1, The Boyz and “Queendom” Season 2 winner WJSN
Featured Image via CUBE Entertainment
      Daniel Anderson

      Daniel Anderson is a Seattle-based Entertainment Reporter for NextShark




      Many people might not know this, but NextShark is a small media startup that runs on no outside funding or loans, and with no paywalls or subscription fees, we rely on help from our community and readers like you.

      Everything you see today is built by Asians, for Asians to help amplify our voices globally and support each other. However, we still face many difficulties in our industry because of our commitment to accessible and informational Asian news coverage.

      We hope you consider making a contribution to NextShark so we can continue to provide you quality journalism that informs, educates, and inspires the Asian community. Even a $1 contribution goes a long way. Thank you for supporting NextShark and our community.

      © 2023 NextShark, Inc. All rights reserved.