K-pop Weekly: OMEGA X takes legal action against label; BIBI releases first full album; The Rose rocks Seattle

K-pop Weekly: OMEGA X takes legal action against label; BIBI releases first full album; The Rose rocks Seattle
Daniel Anderson
November 18, 2022
So much happened in the K-pop world this week. Boy group OMEGA X took unprecedented action and held their own press conference to detail alleged incidents of physical, verbal and sexual abuse from their company CEO. The K-pop group are terminating their contracts, trademarking their name and taking legal action against Spire Entertainment.
The upcoming 2022 MAMA Awards announced massive names for their special stages, including BTS’ J-Hope and a 32-idol performance from five rookie girl groups: IVE, Kep1er, NMIXX, LE SSERAFIM and NewJeans. Meanwhile, soloists such as BIBI, YooA and EXO’s CHEN all released anticipated and notable albums.
Music Releases

Nov. 14, Monday 

K-pop girl group LE SSERAFIM dropped a surprise choreography-focused music video for their song “Impurities,” a side track from their first comeback album “ANTIFRAGILE” released in October.
OH MY GIRL’s YooA released her sophomore mini-album “Selfish” and a title track music video of the same name. A couple of music video B-sides, “Lay Low” and “Melody,” were released last week.
EXO’s CHEN released a mini album and music video, both titled “Last Scene,” on Friday. The music video features “Squid Game” actor Park Hae-soo. Chen wrote the B-side for the track “I Don’t Even Mind,” and the rest of the album is rounded out by the songs “Photography,” “Traveler,” “Reminisce” and “Your Shelter.”
Shortly after their “2022 VERIVERY CONCERT PAGE: O” world tour, Jellyfish Entertainment’s boy group VERIVERY released their third single album, “Liminality – EP.LOVE.” Its release marks the start of their new album series and is led by the title track “Tap Tap.”
VERIVERY told NextShark about the album, with member Yong-seung sharing, “We have come back after wrapping up our previous album promotion, concert and tour. It’s been a very busy year, and I believe our ability to respond calmly and professionally in any given situation has definitely improved. I think you can expect more cool and relaxed performances from us as always.”
Nov. 15, Tuesday 
Boy group VICTON are back with their newest EP “Choice.” It is led by the title track “Virus” and rounded out by the B-sides “The Boy who Runs Through Time,” “Alive,” “Better Place” and “Feels Good.” 
WOOLLIM Entertainment’s boy group DRIPPIN released their first-ever full length album and the newest installment in their “Villain” series, “Villain: The End.” The album is led by the title track “The One” and is rounded out by nine other tracks. DRIPPIN told NextShark about the album, with member Alex sharing “I think one of the noticeable difference is that this is our first full album. Other than that, I think it’s special that we worked with a lot of different genres and really made it in to a ‘Drippin’ sound increasing our range.” Min-seo added, “One of the messages we want to give is that we are very appreciative of the Dreamins cheering us on and we really want to show you our performance to you in person. Till then, please stay healthy! We love you!”
Nov. 16, Wednesday
K-pop girl group SECRET NUMBER now have a fifth number with their latest single “TAP,” for which member Jinny co-wrote the rap lyrics. 
Take a ride with girl group Woo!ah! and their new title track “Rollercoaster” off of their fourth single album “Pit-a-Pat.” 
Nov. 17, Thursday
Rookie septet girl group CSR dropped their EP “Sequence: 17&,” led by the title track “♡TiCON.” The EP comes with the B-side “Anding (&).”
K-pop act STAYC released their debut Japanese single “POPPY.” 
Nov. 18, Friday
Former iKON member and soloist B.I released his mini album “Love Or Loved Part.1,” led by the title track “Keep Me Up.” The album includes the pre-release tracks “BTBT,” featuring Soulja Boy and Devita. Side tracks “Middle With You,” “Tangerine” and “Endless Summer” complete the album.  
German EDM producer TheFatRat teamed up with K-pop girl group EVERGLOW for the collaboration track “Ghost Light.” It is their first new release since their 2021 EP “Return of the Girl.”   
Soloist BIBI’s highly anticipated album “Lowlife Princess: Noir” has dropped. It comes complete with 12 tracks in total, including the song “Lowlife Princess” and title track “BIBI Vengeance.” The pre-release songs “Animal Farm,” “MotoSpeed 24” and “Sweet Sorrow of Mother” are part of the album as well. For this project, BIBI created the fictional figure of Oh Geum-ji, who is inspired by the character Lee Geum-ja from the 2005 thriller film “Lady Vengeance.” 
JYP Entertainment head J.Y. Park occasionally releases his own solo music when he isn’t busy running a major K-pop company. Park dropped a collaboration music video titled “Groove Back” featuring Dynamic Duo’s Gaeko. JYP Entertainment also announced new music projects in the works for their major K-pop groups such as TWICE, NMIXX and Stray Kids. TWICE’s Japanese subunit is coming soon. 
Things I’m Stanning: The Korean boy band The Rose. I was not that familiar with their discography, but I went to their Seattle concert on Sunday for their “Heal Together” tour and was mesmerized by their performances. Choreo and flashy outfits are expected with K-pop performances, but The Rose reminded me of how vocals and instruments are sometimes all you need. The gaggle of rowdy drunk women next to my party nearly ruined our concert experience, but once I saw the sea of color-coordinated lightsticks and audience members in perfect harmony, I was able to take a moment and just be present. That show was truly about healing together.
Other K-pop news:
  • K-pop boy group OMEGA X held a press conference on Wednesday to detail the full extent of the alleged sexual harassment and physical and verbal abuse from their Spire Entertainment company CEO. The K-pop act terminated their contracts, trademarked “Omega X” and will take legal action against their former company. 
  • The upcoming MAMA Awards announced special performances by BTS’ J-Hope, Stray Kids subunit 3RACHA and 32 rookie girl group idols on one stage from IVE, Kep1er, NMIXX, LE SSERAFIM and NewJeans. They also announced that a MAMA Awards is in the works for the U.S. in the next few years.  
  • Music Bank in Chile was canceled due to a storm, but not before K-pop girl group (G)I-DLE performed in dangerous weather conditions
  • BTS member Jungkook will perform at the 2022 FIFA World Cup opening ceremony in Qatar. 
  • ITZY were featured in a FIFA World Cup and McDonald’s collaboration commercial
  • BTS were nominated for a Grammy Award for the third year in a row. 
  • Kang Daniel announced his “Parade” world tour with stops in Europe and North America. 
  • CIX announced their second world tour with stops in Europe, North America and more to come.
  • All seven members of DREAMCATCHER renewed their contracts.
  • Soloist Wonho will start his mandatory military enlistment in December. 
  • MONSTA X member I.M has signed with Sony Music following his departure from Starship Entertainment. 
  • Purple Kiss member Park Ji-eun will leave the group due to health and anxiety issues.
  • DIVE Studios’ special guests were Jackson Wang on Eric Nam’s “DAEBAK SHOW” and EXO’s CHEN on the podcast and YouTube series “GET REAL.” 
  • Punk rock artist BIGONE and DJ HAEE were the newest performers for the latest episode of Warner Music Korea’s Under House series on YouTube. 
Feature Image via Joshua Yi, FEEL GHOOD MUSIC, CJ ENM        
Share this Article
© 2024 NextShark, Inc. All rights reserved.