NextSharkNextShark.com
Latest Newsletter🍵 White House’s first Lunar New YearRead

Article

40-year-old Hayao Miyazaki graphic novel ‘Shuna’s Journey’ to be released in the US for the first time

Shuna's Journey
  • “Shuna’s Journey,” the 1983 graphic novel by Japanese animator and filmmaker Hayao Miyazaki, will be released for the first time in the United States after nearly 40 years since its original publication.

  • It is a one-volume watercolor-illustrated graphic novel that follows the story of a prince’s quest to save his village from famine.

  • The English-language version of the novel, translated by author Alex Dudok, will be published on Nov. 1.

Asian America Daily - in under 5 minutes

Get our collection of Asian America's most essential stories, to your inbox daily, for free!

Unsure? Check out our Newsletter Archive

The graphic novel “Shuna’s Journey” by Oscar-winning animator and filmmaker Hayao Miyazaki is set to be released in the United States for the first time after nearly 40 years since its original publication in Japan.

“Shuna’s Journey,” which was originally published in 1983 by Tokuma Shoten, is a one-volume watercolor-illustrated graphic novel that follows the story of a prince’s quest to save his village from famine. 

The first-ever English version of the novel will be translated by author Alex Dudok de Wit and published under the Macmillan imprint “First Second” on Nov. 1, according to the Associated Press.

“Fans of ‘Princess Mononoke’ and ‘Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind’ — there are millions of us — will delight in finding early hints of these masterworks in gorgeous watercolor pages by Miyazaki’s own hand,” Creative Director Mark Siegel of “First Second” said in a statement.

Miyazaki, the 81-year-old legendary co-founder of Japanese animation studio “Studio Ghibli,” is known for his acclaimed films including, “My Neighbor Totoro” (1988), “Spirited Away” (2000) and “The Wind Rises” (2013).

De Wit announced the news to his official Twitter account on Feb. 22, sharing a few sneak peeks into the new version of the novel.

“The book isn’t so much a manga as an emonogatari (illustrated story), with all-watercolor images and text mostly presented as captions. It is based on a Tibetan folk tale, and the fantastical pseudo-Central Asian setting has a lot in common with the world of ‘NAUSICAÄ,’” de Wit wrote. 

“It’s just a really beautiful story, strange even by Miyazaki’s standards, somber and luminous by turns,” he added. “I can’t wait for this to be out!” 

Featured Images via Kinda Neet (left), @dudeydok (right)

Support our Journalism with a Contribution

Many people might not know this, but despite our large and loyal following which we are immensely grateful for, NextShark is still a small bootstrapped startup that runs on no outside funding or loans.

Everything you see today is built on the backs of warriors who have sacrificed opportunities to help give Asians all over the world a bigger voice.

However, we still face many trials and tribulations in our industry, from figuring out the most sustainable business model for independent media companies to facing the current COVID-19 pandemic decimating advertising revenues across the board.

We hope you consider making a contribution so we can continue to provide you with quality content that informs, educates and inspires the Asian community. Even a $1 contribution goes a long way.  Thank you for everyone's support. We love you all and can't appreciate you guys enough.

Support NextShark

Mastercard, Visa, Amex, Discover, Paypal