Got7 drops teaser and announces first full group comeback since leaving JYP Entertainment

  • K-pop boy group Got7 announced a full group comeback on Monday, following their last group release “Encore” in February last year, with teasers to celebrate the eighth anniversary of their fandom Ahgase (short for “I got 7”).
  • The self-titled EP is slated for a May 23 release at 6:00 p.m. KST, following an in-person concert for fans on May 21 and 22 at the Olympic Handball Gymnasium in Korea. An online version of the May 22 show will also be available.
  • New social media accounts have been created for the group since their departure from JYP Entertainment last year.
  • The members have been busy with solo projects in the meantime, such as Bambam’s new music under the Golden State Warriors’ new entertainment division and Jackson Wang’s performance as part of 88rising at Coachella.

K-pop boy group Got7 celebrated the eighth anniversary of their fandom Ahgase (short for “I Got 7”) on Monday with a teaser for their new EP to announce an upcoming full group comeback.

The seven-member group will release its self-titled EP on May 23 at 6:00 p.m. KST. New official social media accounts on YouTube, TikTok, Instagram and Twitter were created for the group on May 6th and feature a teaser video of their logo.

The group also announced a reunion concert called “Got7 2022 Fancon ‘Homecoming’” slated for May 21 and 22 at the Olympic Handball Gymnasium. The May 22 concert will also be available online.

The group’s new social channels were created after they left JYP Entertainment, following the expiration of their contracts. The recent announcement marks their first comeback since their fourth studio album “Breath of Love: Last Piece” was released in November 2020. Their last single, “Encore,” was released in February 2021.

Since then, the group’s individual members have kept busy. BamBam recently released music with the Golden State Warriors’ new entertainment division, and Hong Kong-born Jackson Wang performed as part of 88rising’s lineup at Coachella. 

Got7 originally debuted in January 2014 under JYP Entertainment with members JAY B, Mark, Jackson, Jinyoung, Youngjae, BamBam and Yugyeom.


Feature Image via JYP Entertainment

Related Posts