Got7 makes highly anticipated comeback after JYP exit with music video for ‘Nanana’

Got7 makes highly anticipated comeback after JYP exit with music video for ‘Nanana’Got7 makes highly anticipated comeback after JYP exit with music video for ‘Nanana’
K-pop boy group Got7 made a full group comeback on Monday with a music video for their new single “Nanana,” off of their self-titled EP. 
The new EP features six tracks, all written and produced by the seven-member group. “Nanana” was composed by leader Jay B, who also wrote two other tracks: “Truth” and “Don’t Leave Me Alone.” The track “Drive Me to the Moon” was written by main vocalist Young-jae, while member Yu-gyeom self-composed “Two” and wrote “Don’t Care About Me” alongside member Jin-young.

“We were prepping this album since last year and we had this feeling of coming back, so I’m happy that it finally happened,” rapper Mark said at a press conference for the album’s release.
Leader Jay B added, “We were all involved in getting the songs, picking the songs, we had all the blind tests on the demos we’d collected and written. We all ended up picking songs that we produced.”

Jackson said, “I missed the fans, and the company worked hard. Each of us has our own team and company, and [organizing the comeback] wasn’t easy, I’m happy that we were fortunate enough to get together like this.”
This is the group’s first official comeback since the members departed JYP Entertainment a year ago. Their last comeback was in February with the music video “Encore.”

Since then, each member has remained busy with a variety of solo activities. Hong Kong-born rapper Jackson Wang has released singles and collaborated with the label 88rising, performing at Coachella earlier this year.
Leader Jay B has released new music as a solo artist, dropping his first EP “Somo:Fume” in August last year and another EP titled “Love.” in January under the pseudonym Def.
Member Young-jae’s EP “Colors from Ars” was released in October last year, and he recently dropped the single “Walk With Me” in December.
Yugyeom released his first EP “Point of View: U” under the label AOMG in June last year and dropped the digital single “Take You Down” featuring Coogie in March.
Thai-born member Bambam has new projects in development with the Golden State Warriors’ entertainment division.
Member Jin-young was cast in the K-drama “Yumi’s Cells” last year. He released his own digital single “Dive” in July 2021.
Lastly, U.S.-born Mark Tuan released the single “Save Me” in April and collaborated with Bibi for the song “Never Gonna Come Down” on the “Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings” soundtrack.  

The group also held a reunion concert called “Got7 2022 Fancon ‘Homecoming,’” their first group fan event since their JYP departure, this past weekend on May 21 and 22 at the Olympic Handball Gymnasium.
Featured Image via Got7
Share this Article
Your leading
Asian American
news source
© 2024 NextShark, Inc. All rights reserved.