Filipino American drag queen Aura Mayari joins ‘RuPaul’s Drag Race’ Season 15

Filipino American drag queen Aura Mayari joins ‘RuPaul’s Drag Race’ Season 15
via Rupaul’s Drag Race
Ryan General
December 16, 2022
A Filipino American drag queen has been announced as one of the contestants of Season 15 of “RuPaul’s Drag Race.”
The popular reality show shared the news on social media on Wednesday, posting Aura Mayari’s official poster along with the caption: “Serving Filipina moon goddess, it’s @AuraMayari!” 
Mayari, whose real name is Jay-R de Leon, retweeted the post, writing: “The Filipina Moon Goddess has just landed. Are you ready?”
View post on X
In a separate post, “RuPaul’s Drag Race” unveiled a 22-second teaser that showcases the drag queen posing in an eye-catching outfit. 
View post on X
In her “Meet The Queens” intro video, she shares that she was born in the Philippines and raised in Chicago. She currently resides in Nashville, Tennessee.

Revealing the origin of her drag name, Mayari says: “I’m proud of being Filipino. Aura came from a Philippine gay lingo that can be used to describe somebody who’s overacting, overly confident, always trying to get attention, someone who’s horny, or someone who’s flirty. So that’s kinda like my drag.” 
Mayari adds that she’s a “total performer” whose drag style is “very edgy, very fashionable, very boss bitch vibe, queen of the night.”
“RuPaul’s Drag Race” Season 15, which is set to premiere on Jan. 6, 2023, also features contestants Amethyst, Irene Dubios, Malaysia Babydoll Foxx, Sugar, Spice, Princess Poppy, Jax, Anetra, Robin Fierce, Marcia Marcia Marcia,  Salina EsTitties, Loosey LaDuca, Mistress Isabelle Brooks, Sasha Colby and Luxx Noir London.
In addition to a cash prize of $200,000, the winning contestant will earn the title of “America’s Next Drag Superstar.”
“RuPaul’s Drag Race” has featured several contestants of Filipino descent in the past, including Manila Luzon, Ongina, Jiggly Caliente, Phi Phi O’Hara, Vivienne Pinay and Rock M. Sakura.
Share this Article
© 2024 NextShark, Inc. All rights reserved.