Enhypen make summer comeback with release of ‘Manifesto : Day 1’ mini-album

  • K-pop boy group Enhypen dropped their third mini-album “Manifesto : Day 1” with title track “Future Perfect (Pass the MIC)” on Monday.

  • The mini-album features five other tracks aside from the title, including “Shout Out,” written by Korean Australian member Jake.

  • Enhypen is slated to make their U.S. KCON debut at KCON LA next month and will conducted their first world tour in September.

  • The joint venture from Hybe and CJ ENM debuted in November 2020 comprised of the seven winning contestants of the idol competition show “I-Land.”

Hybe and CJ ENM’s joint boy group project Enhypen made their summer comeback on Monday with their third mini-album “Manifesto : Day 1,” lead by the title track “Future Perfect (Pass the MIC).” 

Aside from the title track, the mini-album carries five other tracks: “Walk the Line”; hip-hop laced “Paradoxxx Invasion”; soft romance song “TFW (That Feeling When)”; alt-rock “Shout Out”;written by Korean-Australian member Jake; and “Foreshadow,” which features narration in Korean, English and Japanese. The song “Walk the Line” shares the same title as another Enhypen song from their 2020 EP, “Border: Day One.” 

During a press conference for the album release, leader Jungwon said, “MANIFESTO: DAY 1 is a story about boys that question the concept of success defined by adults and will no longer live as they are told but instead search for their own answers. It’s about our own desire to live our life without being swayed by the world.”

In regards to the album’s title track, member Sunghoon said, “Future Perfect is a genre that is quite new to the K-pop scene called Chicago drill. It contains the story of seven boys who realize their sense of calling and declare their leap forward. As the title ‘Pass the MIC’ implies, it contains a powerful message that we will pass the mic to our peers and light the fire of our future together.”

Beyond being busy with the comeback, the seven-member group will make their in-person KCON U.S. debut at KCON LA next month. They had previously performed at a virtual KCON last year due to the pandemic.

In other recent news, the group announced they were planning for their first world tour in September. On June 28, their label Belift Lab announced: “This coming mid-September, ENHYPEN plans to hold a world tour, starting with a concert in Korea, followed by stops in Japan, the United States, and more.”

Enhypen’s last comeback was the repackage album “Dimension: Answer” in January. The group debuted on Nov. 30, 2020, with the title track “Given-Taken” from the mini-album “Border: Day One.” The members — Heeseung, Jay, Jake, Sunghoon, Sunoo, Jungwon and Ni-ki — are the seven winners of the idol competition show “I-Land.”


Featured Image Via HYBE Labels

Support our Journalism with a Contribution

Many people might not know this, but despite our large and loyal following which we are immensely grateful for, NextShark is still a small bootstrapped startup that runs on no outside funding or loans.

Everything you see today is built on the backs of warriors who have sacrificed opportunities to help give Asians all over the world a bigger voice.

However, we still face many trials and tribulations in our industry, from figuring out the most sustainable business model for independent media companies to facing the current COVID-19 pandemic decimating advertising revenues across the board.

We hope you consider making a contribution so we can continue to provide you with quality content that informs, educates and inspires the Asian community. Even a $1 contribution goes a long way.  Thank you for everyone's support. We love you all and can't appreciate you guys enough.

Support NextShark

Mastercard, Visa, Amex, Discover, Paypal