Latest Newsletter🍵 Hawaii’s homeless desperationRead


‘Decision to Leave,’ ‘Drive My Car’ lead Asian Film Awards nominees

via criterioncollection, MUBI

    Asian America Daily - in under 5 minutes

    Get our collection of Asian America's most essential stories, to your inbox daily, for free!

    Unsure? Check out our Newsletter Archive

    “Decision to Leave” and “Drive My Car” lead the 2023 Asian Film Awards in nominations.

    On Friday, organizers of the 16th Asian Film Awards released the official list of nominations, in which Korean director Park Chan-wook’s romantic mystery “Decision to Leave” leads with 10 total nominations. 

    Closely following “Decision to Leave” is Ryusuke Hamaguchi’s “Drive My Car” with eight nominations. Both directors have previously won awards at the Cannes Film Festival. 

    Unlike previous occasions, the 2023 awards will cover a duration of 19 months of film releases due to the postponement of the 2022 ceremony during the COVID-19 pandemic. 

    Completing the Best Film category nominations are Kazakhstan’s “Poet,” India’s “Ponniyin Selvan: Part 1” and Filipino director Lav Diaz’s “When the Waves Are Gone.”

    Five Hong Kong films have received nominations, including a Best Actor nomination for Tony Leung Chiu-wai’s role as a corrupt officer in “Where the Wind Blows” and a Best Actress nomination for Sylvia Chang Ai-chia’s grieving widow persona in “A Light Never Goes Out.”

    The 16th Asian Film Awards ceremony will take place on March 12 at the Hong Kong Jockey Club Auditorium in the Hong Kong Palace Museum. The jury determining the winners will be led by Zhang Yimou, who was awarded Best Director for “One Second” at the 2021 ceremony. 

    A full list of the 2023 Asian Film Awards nominations can be seen below.

    Best Film

    • “Decision to Leave,” South Korea
    • “Drive My Car,” Japan
    • “Poet,” Kazakhstan
    • “Ponniyin Selvan: Part 1,” India
    • “When the Waves Are Gone,” The Philippines, France, Portugal, Denmark

    Best Director

    • Hirokazu Koreeda, “Broker”
    • Park Chan-wook, “Decision to Leave”
    • Ryusuke Hamaguchi, “Drive My Car”
    • Darezhan Omirbayev, “Poet”
    • Davy Chou, “Return to Seoul”

    Best Actor

    • Park Hae-il, “Decision to Leave”
    • Hidetoshi Nishijima, “Drive My Car”
    • Ryohei Suzuki, “Egoist”
    • Zhang Yi, “Home Coming”
    • Mohsen Tanabandeh, “World War III”
    • Tony Leung Chiu-wai, “Where the Wind Blows”

    Best Actress

    • Sylvia Chang, “A Light Never Goes Out”
    • Karena Lam, “American Girl”
    • Happy Salma, “Before, Now & Then”
    • Tang Wei, “Decision to Leave”
    • Chieko Baisho, “Plan 75”

    Best Supporting Actor

    • Masaki Okada, “Drive My Car”
    • Hio Miyazawa, “Egoist”
    • Im Si-wan, “Emergency Declaration”
    • Oh Kwang-rok, “Return to Seoul”
    • Michael Hui Koon-man, “Where the Wind Blows”

    Best Supporting Actress

    • Sakura Ando, “A Man)”
    • Laura Basuki, “Before, Now & Then”
    • Kim So-jin, “Emergency Declaration”
    • Yin Tao, “Home Coming”
    • Yumi Kawai, “Plan 75”

    Best New Director

    • Makbul Mubarak, “Autobiography”
    • Saim Sadiq, “Joyland”
    • Jigme Trinley, “One and Four”
    • Chie Hayakawa, “Plan 75”
    • Kim Se-in, “The Apartment with Two Women”

    Best Newcomer

    • Louise Wong, “Anita”
    • Lee Ji-eun, “Broker”
    • Yang Enyou, “Lighting Up the Stars”
    • Park Ji-min, “Return to Seoul”
    • Mak Pui Tung, “The Sparring Partner”

    Best Screenplay

    • “Autobiography”
    • “Decision to Leave”
    • “Drive My Car”
    • “Lighting Up the Stars”
    • “When the Waves Are Gone”

    Best Editing

    • “Decision to Leave”
    • “Drive My Car”
    • “Lighting Up the Stars”
    • “Ponniyin Selvan: Part I”
    • “Return to Seoul”

    Best Cinematography

    • “Before, Now & Then”
    • “Decision to Leave”
    • “One and Four”
    • “Plan 75”
    • “Ponniyin Selvan: Part I”

    Best Original Music

    • “Decision to Leave”
    • “Drive My Car”
    • “Ponniyin Selvan: Part I”
    • “Return to Seoul”
    • “The Four Walls”

    Best Costume Design

    • “Alienoid”
    • “Anita”
    • “Before, Now & Then”
    • “Egoist”
    • “Ponniyin Selvan: Part I”

    Best Production Design

    • “Before, Now & Then”
    • “Decision to Leave”
    • “Home Coming”
    • “Ponniyin Selvan: Part I”
    • “Where the Wind Blows”

    Best Visual Effects

    • “Alienoid”
    • “Moon Man”
    • “RRR”
    • “Shin Ultraman”
    • “Warriors of Future”

    Best Sound

    • “Anita”
    • “Decision to Leave”
    • “Drive My Car”
    • “Return to Seoul”
    • “RRR”

    Related Articles:

    Support our Journalism with a Contribution

    Many people might not know this, but despite our large and loyal following which we are immensely grateful for, NextShark is still a small bootstrapped startup that runs on no outside funding or loans.

    Everything you see today is built on the backs of warriors who have sacrificed opportunities to help give Asians all over the world a bigger voice.

    However, we still face many trials and tribulations in our industry, from figuring out the most sustainable business model for independent media companies to facing the current COVID-19 pandemic decimating advertising revenues across the board.

    We hope you consider making a contribution so we can continue to provide you with quality content that informs, educates and inspires the Asian community. Even a $1 contribution goes a long way.  Thank you for everyone's support. We love you all and can't appreciate you guys enough.

    Support NextShark

    Mastercard, Visa, Amex, Discover, Paypal