Netflix announces new live-action ‘Avatar: The Last Airbender’ cast members

Netflix announces new live-action ‘Avatar: The Last Airbender’ cast membersNetflix announces new live-action ‘Avatar: The Last Airbender’ cast members
Chandler Treon
September 27, 2022
Netflix announced on Tuesday a bevy of new additions to the cast of their live-action “Avatar: The Last Airbender” series.
An impressive list of familiar faces is joining previously announced cast members in Netflix’s adaptation of the popular animated series, which showrunner Albert Kim described as “a chance to showcase Asian and Indigenous characters as living, breathing people. Not just in a cartoon, but in a world that truly exists, very similar to the one we live in.”
Representing the Water Tribe are Amber Midthunder (“Prey”) as Princess Yue, A Martinez (“Cowboy Bebop”) as Pakku, Irene Bedard (“Pocahantas”) as Yagoda, Joel Oulette (“Trickster”) as Hahn, Nathaniel Arcand (“Heartland”) as Chief Arnook and Meegwun Fairbrother (“Burden of Truth”) as Avatar Kuruk.
Citizens of the Earth Kingdom include Utkarsh Ambudkar (“Ghosts”) as King Bumi, Danny Pudi (“Mythic Quest”) as the Mechanist, Lucian-River Chauhan (“Encounter”) as Teo and James Sie (“Stillwater”) reprising his role from the original animated series as the Cabbage Merchant.
Members of the Fire Nation include Momona Tamada (“Secret Headquarters”) as Ty Lee, Thalia Tran (“Raya and the Last Dragon”) as Mai, Ruy Iskandar (“Yes Day”) as Lt. Jee, Hiro Kanagawa (“Altered Carbon”) as Fire Lord Sozin, C.S. Lee (“Warrior”) as Avatar Roku, François Chau (“The Expanse”) as The Great Sage and Ryan Mah (“Snowpiercer”) as Lt. Dang.
Inhabiting the Spirit World are George Takei (“Star Trek”) as the voice of Koh, the terrifying face-stealing spirit, and Randall Duk Kim (“John Wick”) as the voice of Wan Shi Tong, the Spirit of Knowledge.
Although “Avatar: The Last Airbender” is currently in production, no official release date for the series has been announced.
Featured image (left to right) via Amber Midthunder, YouTube, YouTube, Twitter
Share this Article
© 2024 NextShark, Inc. All rights reserved.