Asian talents including BTS, Blackpink, Olivia Rodrigo land 2021 MTV EMA nominations

Asian talents including BTS, Blackpink, Olivia Rodrigo land 2021 MTV EMA nominations
Michelle De Pacina
October 22, 2021
The 2021 MTV Europe Music Awards have unveiled the nomination list for 2021, and many Asian talents are featured across multiple different categories.
K-pop nominees: On Oct. 20, the MTV Europe Music Awards (EMAs) announced this year’s nominees which include many K-pop acts such as BTS, Blackpink, Twice, Monsta X and NCT 127.
  • BTS earned four different nominations this year including best pop and best group.
  • As for the biggest fans category, BTS and Blackpink face off against one another along with fellow nominees Justin Bieber, Taylor Swift, Ariana Grande and Lady Gaga.
  • Blackpink members Lisa and Rosé are nominated separately for the best K-Pop award this year in which they are competing against BTS and groups such as Twice, Monsta X and NCT 127.
  • In the EMA’s best Korean Act for 2021 category, girl groups Aespa, STAYC and Weeekly are nominated along with boy group WEi and boy band Cravity.
Asian Talents: The MTA EMAs also feature other Asian American and Southeast Asian talents.
  • Filipino American pop star Olivia Rodrigo is nominated in five categories including best pop, best song, best new artist, best push and best US Act.
  • Filipino Chinese, African American rapper Saweetie also joins Olivia in the best new artist category.
  • The EMAs also have a best Southeast Asia act category which includes the following nominees: JJ Lin (Singapore), SB19 (Philippines), Ink Waruntorn (Thailand), K-ICM (Vietnam), Lyodra (Indonesia), Naim Daniel (Malaysia).
Voting is currently open on MTV EMAs’ official website until Nov. 10 at 5:59 p.m. ET. While the event is set to take place at the Papp László Budapest Sportaréna in Hungary, it will also air live on Nov. 14 through MTV channels at 3 p.m. ET.
Featured Image via HYPE LABELS (left), @blackpinkofficial (right)
Share this Article
© 2024 NextShark, Inc. All rights reserved.